Deptford Pink

Last year a small population of the very rare Deptford pink Dianthus armeria was discovered on a south-facing drain bank in south Lincolnshire, the first record in the vice-county for over a century, and only the second ever. Today I went out with people from the Wildlife Trust and Internal Drainage Board to see how it was doing.

It's a very charismatic species. In overall appearance it's a little like a straggly Sweet William, though the flowers are smaller and lack the heady scent of that plant. However, when viewed closely, the blooms are exquisite, a vibrant magenta speckled with white dots, and with delicate slate-blue anthers. We were very pleased to find that the number of plants appeared to have increased, and that all of them were flowering profusely.

In the afternoon I helped to survey one of the best small drains in Lincolnshire - absolutely packed with rarities, including one sedge that I've never seen before locally. Definitely a day of botanical riches!

Unfortunately my camera started playing up while I was out, with completely wild metering. When I arrived home I played around and realised that the problem's actually with my macro lens - it looks as though the diaphragm's buggered. I suppose I can't complain as I've had it five years and it gets used almost every day. I've now got to decide whether to go for repair or an upgrade.

On a happier note, the bathroom fitter arrived before I had left, and replaced the valve, so finally their part of the job's finished. Pete's busy painting:the ceiling's done but the deep teal coloured walls are proving more challenging. At first I wasn't sure I liked the colour (it's quite dramatic) but luckily it's growing on me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.