Pisky29

By Pisky29

I pass this sculpture occasionally, which is part of an installation called The Bridge (This Journey's End), by Andy Scott, commissioned by Clackmannanshire Council, to celebrate the opening of the Clackmannanshire Bridge.

Depicting two figures reaching towards one another across a gap, it inspires me every time I circle the roundabout on which it stands.

Art will always mean different things and have varying value to all of us. And many might question how appropriate it is for a public authority to spend large sums on this sort of public artwork.

For me this is a bold and uplifting statement, it demonstrates a civic awareness and pride which is celebratory, not boastful. It is a landmark piece of work and I applaud that council for showing a little passion in a grey municipal world.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.