Sounds like Summer

The first thing I noticed when I arrived back here last week was the noise of the cicadas. From dawn until dusk the sound is deafening - about fifty times louder than those you hear in Mediterranean countries, and these cicadas are the ugliest!

I'm told that they spend several years underground as a larvae and pop out of the ground for seven days of lurve... hence the noisy singing. Normally, cicadas only sing during daylight. However, these days busy cities are brightly illuminated even at night, so that some confused cicadas scream at night as well.

It is said that their appearance is a harbinger of summer and that when the ground is littered with dead cicadas it is a forerunner of autumn. Sorry not so little cicada but roll on autumn... I'm roasted!

Heat, ma'am! it was so dreadful here, that I found there was nothing left for it but to take off my flesh and sit in my bones.
Sydney Smith

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.