Still there!

When the snowdrops flowered and there was no sign of my wee Chionodoxa in the same pot I thought I'd lost it. I remembered that they flower at the same time. However, as jankerman pointed out, last year it bloomed in August, so I kept an eye out for it. It came up and flowered so quickly that the snowdrops are still at their best. The little red-pointed leaves are dwarfed by those of the snowdrops.

The leeks I grew in in a big plastic container have done very well. I pulled one today that made me feel proud. I made it into soup, with locally grown potatoes and a good bunch of parsley from the garden. A serving for lunch, and three for the freezer.

One year ago: the resident bellbird chasing the waxeyes away from the apple. She comes to my garden every day, but so far this winter I have heard, but not seen her. I suspect it is her rustling the Coprosma bush outside the door. Last year the Coprosma berries failed, but there are plenty this winter. She has not bothered with the apple.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.