More Than Words

By RJS

Hayden

Hayden is a young man I met at my friend's 50th birthday party on Saturday night. He has autism and his early life was very difficult for him and his family. His mum said he lived under the table for the first 7 years of his life and didn't start to talk until he was 7. He has made tremendous progress over the last few years and his mum tells me he is still learning. After leaving school he went to work at woolworths and gets public transport on his own each day. He was very relaxed and obviously happy in his environment at the party. He has 3 wonderful sisters who have done a great deal to help him: I met 2 of them and they were obviously very proud of their brother. If Liam can achieve what Hayden has, it will surpase my wildest dreams. His story gave me some much needed hope.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.