Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Finally...a butterfly

I have spent the past few weeks trying to get a photo of a butterfly. Yesterday I scrambled all over the mountain side with my macro lens on my camera aiming for the perfect butterfly shot...but no luck - they were too quick, and although a got a few shots. they were not what I was hoping for.

Today was again another very hot day, but I felt too tired and lazy after yesterday's 4 hour walk in the sun to go on our planned bicycle ride. I spent the morning doing grocery shopping and ironing (on holiday!) and then this afternoon took Murdoch for a walk and a swim (he loves swimming in the reservoir) and then somehow Adam and I found ourselves on the terrace of a popular hotel having iced coffees - well strong, hot coffee poured over a scoop of vanilla ice cream, not the other kind of milkshake iced coffee.

On the way back to the apartment I happened to notice this butterfly sitting languidly on some lavender - despite only having my 24-70mm lens on the camera, I took some photos. Not ideal without the macro lens, but not a bad result considering I had the wrong lens - and this has not even been cropped, so I was rather pleased with how it turned out.

Can anyone identify what type of butterfly it is?

I think it may be a Silver Washed Fritillary

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.