Visit to the shrine!

The main purpose of our visit was to go to Anfield for Steven Gerard's testimonial. I had a season ticket from being 18 to having Charlotte but haven't been to a game for a while so it was good to be back. Lottie has been asking to go to a game so it seemed the ideal opportunity.

It was an emotional afternoon - my memories of Anfield are largely tied up with my dad, and the last time I was there was with him at Jamie Carragher's testimonial. I just about coped until the Kop started singing You'll Never Walk Alone!

The game wasn't great but it was good to see the appreciation for Gerard, and to see Robbie Fowler back. I have to say testimonials aren't what they used to be - it's all too professional now and they are pre season friendlies rather than end of season amusement. The old games I saw for King Kenny and Alan Hansen were much more entertaining.

We headed into town later and had a nice walk round Albert Dock where I took some much better pictures but it just had to be this one.

Rounded a lovely day off with a great Italian back in Southport.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.