Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Ms Wisp

Identification - Agriocnemis femina femina - variable wisp.

This is a follow-up to yesterday’s wisp. This is an immature female. Eventually she will be a bright red all over.. She has already passed the pink stage, so not long to go.

Disaster – something has gone wrong with my computer display. The screen has gone darker and grainy, making text difficult to read as there are bits missing. Some of the horizontal lines of pixels have gone feint. This obviously makes processing my images a lot more difficult, so I am really not sure what I have put out today.

This is either the screen or the display driver in the laptop. Either way makes no difference as I cannot afford to repair or replace anything, so I am going to be stuck with this for the foreseeable future.

Everything is fully backed up on portable drives and I will be backing up daily onto a memory stick, so nothing is going to be lost. I hope you all are doing regular back-ups, you just never know when things are going to break and you may not get an opportunity to save.

My laptop is over ten years old now and probably well beyond its design life. The laptop screen packed in a couple of years ago and I have been using a plug-in screen, keyboard and mouse ever since. My next computer will be a desk top, but I don’t even know where I will be living next month – stress!

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.