Red, Green, and Blue

By GemmoMC

Vigan on the Map

Yesterday, we found out that a wall from our house back in the Philippines had collapsed. The current occupants of our home had informed my aunt about what happened. We're planning to send some money back home to get it repaired, but we need to do some research so that we know that our money will be put to good use. My grandma had been swindled before with our family over there. She had sent money to get the fence fixed, but when she went to visit later, the fence was still in disrepair.

Our place back in the Philippines is such in dire shape. My parents have long said that when they retire, they will build a fancy home to replace our old, dilapidated one. It's been close to 20 years that my parents haven't been back home, so when they visit, hopefully within the near future, they will be in for a surprise (and not a good one).

Anyway, this is a map of where we come from. I was born in Vigan in the province of Ilocos Sur in the Philippines. My brother was born in the town right below. We were wee youngins when we crossed the big ocean blue to come to the great country of the US of A. Since our births, we've only been back once. Hopefully, one day I can go back, stay for a while, and learn about my people and my language.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.