Butterfly Garden at Shugborough Hall

Another gloriously sunny day and I couldn't resist a trip over to
Shugborough Hall, Staffordshire

There is an enclosed garden that I've seen many times - beautiful - with glorious blooms - but I hadn't realised until today that it is officially called the butterfly garden.

One of the gardeners asked if we would like to go in. He said they only shut the gates to keep the rabbits out.

This morning it was full of various kinds of whites, hundreds and hundreds of the fattest bees you can imagine, peacocks, small tortoiseshells, commas and a silver Y. Well, that's what I saw in the two visits I made there. One of the comma shots was my final, difficult choice.

Wandering by the stream, I spotted (and snapped) various damselflies and one enormous dragonfly with a cheeky face

The gardens are so beautiful, such as this riverbank scene

Families were enjoying the sunshine - and one was preparing for a picnic and just chillin'

I've lots to enter in the Big Butterfly Count - and a problem I never had last year. Just how do you count hundreds and hundreds of three kinds of white butterflies ?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.