Life is a Challenge!

By Honeycombebeach

G is for Grandad and Grandson

A special bond seems to exist between grandparents and grandchildren and this is the case in our family.

GRANDAD, Mr. HCB, and GRANDSON, Harry, had a wonderful time together last night when they went to see Bournemouth play Portsmouth at football. I went down to my favourite beachside cafe to have a coffee then the cake jumped into my hand, so good job it wasn't a Fasting Day!

Rang Harry, our grandson, at about 9.45 p.m. to ask where they were as I was still down in the cafe. Mr. HCB suggested meeting me there and said they would have a "cheeky pint" so that's what they did. I did take a lovely photograph of them with beer in hand, but alas it was before midnight so I couldn't use it as my blip for today!

It's great for Mr. HCB to have someone sensible to discuss football with, as despite having a husband and two sons who were all keen football supporters, I cannot stand the game and all I know is that it is 22 men kicking a ball from one end of a pitch to the other - well actually it's 20 men kicking the ball and 2 men trying to stop them getting it in the net!

It's also good that Grandad and grandson can chat together about anything and everything - and it is amazing how teenagers have such strong opinions and have great ideas about "putting this country to rights". Perhaps more teenagers should be politicians!

I asked if they would be my blip today as the letter was G in the ALPHABET CHALLENGE and they reluctantly said they would - well I didn't grumble when they left me to go to football, so they didn't really have any choice!! Bought some Marmite for Harry, as he loves cheese and Marmite sandwiches, so he is a happy bunny, as you can see.

Proverbs 17 v 6 says:
Grandchildren are the crowning glory of the aged.

Not sure either Mr. HCB or me want to think of ourselves as "aged" but we're both certain that our grandchildren are our crowning glory!

Jesus said : “I am the GOOD Shepherd. The GOOD Shepherd puts the sheep before himself, sacrifices himself if necessary……"
John 10:11
The Message

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.