Sense of Purpose

By brainfreeze

Second day of the festival

Ok, this photo is taken little after midnight after Saturday's main act but technically it's Sunday already. It's a tradition in Ilosaarirock to shoot up firework after the unofficial main act has finished on Saturday. You can see a part of the main stage on the right. The picture is a bit shaky but I'm sure that's understandable...

On Sunday I saw the following artists:

The Haunted: What a way to start the day! The band rocked and grooved. Vocalist Peter Dolving is the embodiment of onstage intensity.

Major Label: a Finnish alternative rock/metal band that my friend wanted to check out... so we did. Sounded good.

Disco Ensemble: I don't recall much from this gig. It's not that I was particularly intoxicated but I guess it just wasn't an extremely memorable performance. I guess part of the reason was that I didn't actually see the band since I was sitting down on the grass.

Bad Brains: One of my long time favorite bands. These guys are legends. Unfortunately they seemed rather listless and phlegmatic. Still, at least I saw them.

Killing Joke: Another legendary band. As was with Disco Ensemble, I didn't so much see as hear them. They sounded quite good. I did buy their first album on Monday, so I guess it wasn't a complete disaster.

Röyksopp: We watched the first half a bit. They gathered a huge crowd around the second stage.

Kotiteollisuus: They're like the AC/DC of Finnish rock/metal. You pretty much know what their next album is going to sound like... They had a barbeque in front of the main stage and gave out sausages to the front row. Music-wise it was quite average. You know what you're going to get from them, apart from the sausages perhaps.

I also had time to chill back laying motionless at the beach around the Rentolava ("Chill out stage").

After Kotiteollisuus finished we headed to the Päätösklubi (Closing club). More of that on Monday's blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.