David Nichols

By davidnichols

Hazy Day

Taken from the cockpit of OK-FLY, a Piper Archer III (PA-28-181) while trying to fly cross country from Sazena to Most.

Unfortunately there are some hills dividing Most from the rest of the Czech Republic to the east, and it appeared to me that the visibility was so bad over those hills that I would no longer be flying in VFR conditions. So I elected to continue directly to my second airport, Dvur Kralove.

There were also thunderstorms scheduled to hit later in the afternoon, so I kept a careful watch out for bad weather, although I never encountered anything today. Just reduced visibility and light turbulence, but nothing too worrisome.

I had a great day flying solo cross-country, and it was a big confidence builder after the previous day out.

This flight ended up my required hours for my group of solo cross-country flights, next I will be making the long solo cross-country flight - at least 270 km and at least 2 hours with 2 full stops at other airports than the home airport. I will do this next week because I will be out of town until Monday. After that it's 3 flights in controlled airspace, and that's the end of the official flight training for me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.