Kipper Cabin

By KipperCabin

That's my pond

Yes, I know, it's not in focus and there's too much flash. But to quote Neil Young, "That's my style".

Years ago I worked in the film biz and one particular extravaganza I worked on was one of those "Aid" music videos, Bob Geldof/Midge Ure style. It was the Canadian version, Bryan Adams/David Foster style. Legends of Canadian music gathered in a studio in Toronto with David Foster at the controls. They all sang together for a couple of hours, then took turns doing a leadie bit each. When it was Neil Young's turn he sang his line, as he does. David Foster says, "Can we have another one, Neil". So Neil Young sings it again. And David Foster keeps asking for "just one more", so he sings it again, and again, and again. After about ten takes there a short silence. Then David Foster says over the PA, "Neil, you're a bit off key". GASP! Neil Young stares at him through the glass, then leans in real close to the mic and says, earnestly, "That's my style".

It was all caught on camera, too. Didn't make the final cut, but I bet you can find it somewhere deep in the distorted depths of YouTube. Gripping stuff!

My pond ... all clean and lovely. Only three fish survived my onslaught. And raccoons ate about a dozen water hyacinth the first night I put them out. So that's it. I'm not restocking. I'm not battling parasites, raccoons and herons any more.

At 12 feet long, six feet at it's widest point and four feet deep it's perfect for bobbing about in on a hot day. So, this time next year I'll be buying pool pucks rather than fish. I'll perhaps get one of those tiny dingy things too, for reading in.

I shall have to work on my focus and flash issues. In the meantime, that's my style.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.