Sydney

By Sydney

Youna

This is Youna. She is the daughter of my friend Mika. I met Mika when she enrolled her son, Takehito, into my class to learn English and to be a model of "typical" (I dislike that word when it comes to people but it differentiates from a child in my class who has a formal diagnosis of a disability--different ability). Ui, their middle child was enrolled in a class at a different school for students with profound disabilities and Youna was enrolled at my school in the academically gifted program.

Takehito was a bit shy in the beginning but his mother stayed during class time to support his comfort and to work on her English as well. Mika is a pediatrician and her wonderful husband was awarded a Fellowship at the U of W Hospital in Geriatric Medicine so they moved to Seattle from Tokyo. It was my great luck to have them enter my life! It was ever so handy having a pediatrician in my classroom for skinned knees, pink eye, splinters and the like. Being a pediatrician I did not have to be concerned with her keeping information confidential as she understood well the need for discretion. This is all by way of background but does not illuminate the wonder this family brought into my class and my life. Mika taught us kite making in a way I never would have reached on my own, she made shadow puppets for us to use in the sunlight, she illustrated fairy tales and helped me with costumes to prepare for our production of "The Little Red Hen". The kids that were able, had speaking parts, and she helped me teach the others to shake their heads "no" on cue. Her sensitivity was legion, her gentle humor warmed my heart and her patience taught me daily. It was a magical time in my teaching career and I carry it with me, far richer and much influenced by her kindness. She would bow every morning to my dog of whom she was tentative when they met. On the last day of summer school, out of the corner of my eye I saw her bow to Lewis and softly say, "Thank you, Lewis, for teaching me about kindness of dogs". The family moved to Sapphoro, Hokaido shortly after that and I miss them. I treasure my two years with Mika's presence and having Youna here is a delight.

Youna has come to the US to visit friends in Seattle and visit MIT in Boston. Youna is hoping to study Physics and Math and MIT is her dream school. My daughter, Rosie, took a class at MIT and Rosie is home preparing for her move to Jordan to finish her masters degree so those two had much to chat about. I love watching people I love delight in each other!

Hey, news about hot chocolate and positive effect on brain health! Now, THIS is news!
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/health/article-2386257/Drinking-hot-chocolate-prevent-ALZHEIMERS-boosting-blood-flow-brain.html

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.