Sydney

By Sydney

Vroom, vroom!

I planted 2 golden raspberry canes in a fabric grow pot to see what they’d do. They did a lot! The first berry set, at which I was delighted, was sparse compared to the promise of this new crop but what strikes me as amazing is the colony that has taken up residence amongst the greenery.
There is a tiny, pinhead size, beetle (pictured) that looks like a black VW who’s traveling gate seems, if this can be said, cheerful. I like him a lot. He will probably winter in the eaves of my house and relieve me of my roof, but that’s the future and this is now so now I like him. There is a spider of course, but I don’t know what he’s living on, unless he’s eaten them all, because he’s not eating the root weevil I found a few minutes ago or the tiny green worm all curled inside a leafy airstream trailer sort of arrangement. He’s not eating whatever insect is causing leaves with small holes throughout or the one who’s eating just along the leaf veins, either. He’s not eating whatever is causing mottling, puckers and stunted leaf development or the beastie that left a trail that looks like the Okavango delta from the air. He’s not eating the white flies and my dog is trying to eat the bees. Maybe I’m wrong to eat the berries; maybe the leaves are the treat?

Clearly fall cleanup will need to be thorough but until then they are all safe from me. Except the root weevil, he fell off while I was looking at him. I didn’t even give him my best withering stare! Maybe I should brush my hair.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.