Sydney

By Sydney

Jordan Prep 101

My youngest leaves in 13 days for a year in Jordan. I am being brave but I am going to miss her. My father, her grandfather, decided that no one should go to the Middle East without seeing 'Lawrence of Arabia' all 4 hours, with his narration to clarify the events as they unfolded. I have seen the film, of course, though my daughters had not, but I learned a great deal from my father's additional information, maps and anecdotes to anchor this story to the global timeline. It was fascinating! Add to that the fact that he prepared a many stage repast for our viewing pleasure: individual bowls of buttered popcorn to begin followed by croissants, assorted cheeses and fresh fruit should we become peckish during the long haul. At intermission, he BBQ'd hotdogs with all the condiments and tossed a green salad followed later by potato chips and DOTS without which he feels no movie viewing is complete. It was a lovely, informative afternoon, that spoke of love and caring. We are blessed to have him!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.