Mikey88

By Mikey88

Yellowhammer

What is worse than having the battery in your camera run out and finding you haven't got a spare? Having a spare and finding it's not been recharged.

There we were, on top of a cliff by the sea, on a beautiful day, bright sunshine and blue skies, long views along the coast with just the right amount of cloud over the far horizon, white sailing boats on the sea, a horde of amazing butterflies and swifts flying within twenty feet and below us, and I had a camera with two dead batteries (sob).

I saw some of the best photographs I would ever have taken while eating lunch. Prizewinners, every one. Sadly, they will never see the inside of my computer.

I managed fifteen pictures before the battery went and liked this shot of the yellowhammer best. I think it might be a juvenile, as it sat quite happily while I took its picture, whereas an older bird would have been away as soon as it saw us so close.

Still, lunch was delicious - fresh locally baked bread and local ham with locally baked spiced buns. And it was just magnificent sitting on top of the cliff, watching the butterflies, birds and the view. Fantastic day. Lesson learned!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.