A baby Green Woodpecker in its tree nest

This evening I heard yet again the strange noises coming from the ash tree at the bottom of our garden. I have seen a big bird in the foliage but couldn't be sure what it was. A couple of days ago I recognised that the new hole which appeared in the middle of the trunk was like a woodpeckers nest.

Today I spotted this little head poking out every so often and then disappearing back inside. I brought my camera out into the back garden and sat still for a few minutes and then it appeared here. I am so pleased as its hole is facing our dining room and we will be able to watch its coming and goings for the next while as long as the branches of the sycamore don't get blown in front of the hole. I have had to crop this heavily to get closer to the subject.

Before seeing this I wasn't sure whether it was a Great Spotted Woodpecker as we have quite a few in the vicinity and they regularly feed on our bird feeders. But I think it is a young Green Woodpecker because it looks so big already. I will have to get my lens extender out and set-up a tripod in the garden with a remote trigger so that I can try to get better and closer shots. Helena is excited about it too although she hasn't seen this bird yet in the flesh, so to speak.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.