The beholder's eye

By uniqueandlovely

Nature's little Teddy bear!

Today I went to another of my favourite locations....Malling down near Lewes in East Sussex. Again I was just blown away by the sheer quantity and quality of the beautiful butterflies found there.
I saw a total of 16 different species, including a Wall, Brown Argus and three more Clouded yellows, but today's blip is of the species I went to Malling down specifically to see, the Silver spotted skipper (Hesperia comma).
I love Silver spotted skippers, they are full of attitude, and look just like little tiny furry teddy bears! Usually they are a bit difficult to get shots of as they tend to sit on the low growing plants near the ground and zip off at the drop of a hat, melting into the background., but today they were lured up higher by the extensive ragwort and much easier to approach while nectaring.
I hope you enjoy seeing this rare southern downland species as much as I have enjoyed getting the shots for you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.