The beholder's eye

By uniqueandlovely

Last day surprise!

It was my last day in Norfolk today, and I am just walking back from hand feeding the friendly swan, when I noticed some darter dragonflies sitting on a log at the edge of the lawn, by the willow and sallow trees.
I was just thinking I might blip the dragons when this stunning beetle walked out onto the log!
Horrified as I didn't have the SLR with me I scooped him up in a plastic bag! and rushed back to get the camera. When I let him out of the bag, I fully expected him to scuttle or fly off, but instead he was more than happy to climb onto my finger and allow me a photo shoot, so much so that when I tried to put him back into the undergrowth, he jut climbed up my arm in the opposite direction!!
This is musk beetle Aromia moschata, which is also a longhorn and at up to 35mm huge, and as far as I am concerned a really nice find! Apparently it can emit a 'musky' smell, and sound when handled, but mine did nither.
Such a beautiful beetle, enjoy

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.