biodiversity

By LoJardinier

Determination

The French verb for 'to identify a flower' is determiner. That's what I tried to do this morning with some plants found on my early morning walk yesterday. One is I think a sort of mint - easy to name due to the scent, another looks like a species of sea lavender (Limonium), but I can't find it in my flower guide. This is where I need a bit of determination to carry on till I've named that weed! The plant bearing the red berries is I think Osyris alba, a broom-like shrub from the sandalwood family.
I didn't take my camera on the walk - I''m still getting in to new habits. I took pictures later in the day, by the river in my village, with the intention to blip but then a friend came round to ask if I could join him and another friend, in ten minutes, for a barbecue in his vines, lost in the peace of the hills. Of course I went and the three of us ate and drank and talked till 2am. No early walk this morning.
The marble on the table is from a old chest of drawers. My son and I are thinking of making a pastry board out of it. The colour of the photo is odd because I forgot to change the white balance and tried to correct it with a '1960s' effect gizmo. A lot to learn still - more determination needed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.