biodiversity

By LoJardinier

New favourite

The plant is Eryngium campestre, or field eryngo, my favourite flower at the moment. Why? Because this is its season, and the paths and wild spaces are full of these spectral white flower heads. I wrote about it on my blog last year here. And because it's not what it seems: it's called Chardon roulant in French, which means 'rolling thistle' - but though it is spiky, it isn't a thistle, but comes instead from the fennel, carrot and cow-parsley family (Apiaceae - used to be called Umbelliferae). And thirdly because it's usually covered in butterflies, like this one, which according to my guide is a Southern Gatekeeper (Pyronia cecilia). [NB - probably a simple Gatekeeper ([i]P. tithonus[/i] - I bow to Veronica's entomological wisdom. ]
I saw a huge group of these plants on Saturday night when I walked with friends up to a nearby wine domaine for an evening of paella,jazz and wine appreciation. So I went back today - which I came to regret because it was a long uphill slog in full sun, but when you're halfway there, you might as well keep going. After all, there was a Blip at stake.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.