My Angle

By myangle

Night Driving

Firstly let me say, don't try this unless it is completely safe, and even then you should probably think twice. I chose the deserted but well lit industrial estate were I work to take this shot. It was very difficult. Firstly I worked out the angle and the exposure sitting in my car during my lunch break. After work I parked the car in a street that looped back on itself so that I wouldn't encounter any traffic. Before I took the shot I did a recce to check that no-one was around. I then slowly accelerated to 40kph and hit the shutter. It took a few goes and the camera fosussed on the steering wheel, not me. The result was pretty much what I wanted, but technically needs some work. Luckily I work nights so the street where I tried this will always be available. I used the on camera flash to "freeze" me in the frame.
Note the look of concentration on my face. Another reason not to try something like this unless it is safe.
30sec, f8, 100iso, 18-55mmlens @18mm, flash fired.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.