ClickSnapSmile

By KirstyHalbert

Sunset Over Paphos.

After yesterday’s busy day, we fancied a quiet few hours on the sun loungers today. M slept late, so I made fruit salad for breakfast, and then read my book. I’m onto a Rebus book now – it’s been a while since I’ve read one of those. After we’d eaten we walked to the seafront, but stayed closer to the promenade this time, and rented some sun loungers on the decking. I was getting a bit bored of washing sandy towels! The water is really inviting everywhere here, but it was rocky in front of our loungers and only accessible by a set of steps that finished just at the point where the waves broke, so you had to choose your moment and jump in! The first time, someone was behind me on the steps so I couldn’t acclimatise slowly and the cool water took my breath away. There is such variance in temperature just half a kilometre down the coast! I could see the rocks clearly under me as I swam but I was well out of my depth. The water is so clear here that the real distance to the seabed is hard to determine.

The water is the most beautiful colour. Blue, but where rocks lie close to the surface, there are pale areas, and greenish areas where the algae grows. We ate at the restaurant we tried on our first night, and then retired back to the loungers with a glass of beer.

Later in the afternoon we headed home, where M made another lovely tea. At home it’s usually me that cooks, but only because M gets home later than me, so he’s enjoying it here. As the sun began to set, I dragged M out for one last walk to the beach and managed to grab this shot just before the sun disappeared entirely. On our way home we marveled at all the cats, who seem to ooze out of their hiding places at dusk and languish on top of cars, air con units and over kerbs (which looks deeply uncomfy, but loads of them do it)! The kittens all come to play by the pool but the adults are wary and stay in the shadows. At any moment you feel that there may be 10 pairs of cats’ eyes on you! They come up to the balcony and miaow plaintively – we haven’t given in yet, but I’m close. M would kill me. We heard two British girls in the supermarket the other day: “Do you think we should buy some cat food?”... I don’t think they’d taken their own cat with them! :o)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.