Balthazar

By balthazar

Saving the world, one flush at a time?

I was at a meeting in central Glasgow today and the office where it was being held was obviously doing its bit to save the earth. Every light switch, button, socket, handle, etc. was accompanied by a stern warning to consider the disaster you were about to visit on mankind. I'm normally quite tolerant of this kind of nonsense although the sheer volume and hectoring tone of the notices rapidly began to grate.

Until I went to avail myself of the facilities and I found this little gem. I laughed out loud when I saw it but, readjusting my aim, I paused to consider what was actually being proposed:
- that just by thinking, I could prevent water pollution? Quite a trick.
or, slightly more worrying,
- that having stared into the Bowl of Doom, I should not flush at all? This may indeed save the oceans but the immediate environment would get fairly rank, fairly quickly - a severe test of anyone's green credentials.

Anyway, the author's heart was probably in the right place; it's where their head was stuck that I wonder about...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.