One daze at a time...

By Raheny_Eye

Testicular retractability

Great sunny morning on the beach in Spanish Point.
But do not be fooled (we were...), this does not mean that the water is going to be safe for human consumption. I spotted a few seals with lips purple from the cold and the odd shivering dolphin or two.
This was not going to dampen Eva's enthusiasm as she leapt into the first few waves.

Being the modern parent, I joined the 4 kids for a splash (Finn being only 7 months old was exempted from taking part in the torture session).
Not for the fun, oh no. I've been there, done that, got the t-shirt.
This was just my testicular retractibilty bi-yearly test. And I am glad to say that in the last year of my 30s and with 3 kids under my belt (quite literally), the twins have lost none of their survival instinct and speed of reaction (or retraction to be more specific): they promptly retreated back to the barracks as my toes dipped in the icy cold blue waters of the North Atlantic.
The kids had a brilliant time though. All four of them managed to jump up and down in the waves for a few minutes, then came out crying from the cold and we tried to revive them with vigorous friction in fluffy beach towels.
Then they had to be carried back to the cars, still crying and oozing with green snot, quick session of dry change of clothes in the boot of the car, a few more cries and then short drive back home. Repeat morning and afternoon for 5 days and you managed to create the vivid memories essential to an Irish childhood.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.