Photogen

By Photogen

The search for nectar

I wandered out with my camera today to do a check on any garden developments as I'd been busy with other things this week. Lots of new flowers that could have made it as today's blip, but my favourite was a courgette flower which was attracting constant attention from bees.

The picture on the left is a little bee arriving; top right is the flower with two bees, so groggy with nectar that they were staggering over each other and going round and round the pistil of the flower quite oblivious of each other, me and my camera. I waited patiently until the two of them could clearly be seen as separate entities and took the close-up shot. The bees are doing a great job in my garden accomplishing what bees are meant to do, and I'm enjoying the fruits of their labours. You can just see the ripening courgettes in the left photo. How I'm looking forward to my tofu and vegetable ragoût this evening!

Sony Cybershot DSC-RX100:
Courgette plant - ISO 400: 10.4 mm: f/5.6: 1/320th
Bees close-up - ISO 800: 10.4: F/11: 1/160th

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.