Huge Mushroom

This afternoon I spotted this very large mushroom growing at the bottom of a tree when I was riding along the river on my way to the sanctuary. Unfortunately I was running late and couldn't stop but I did take a few photos of it on the way home. I was curious exactly how big it was so I got the tape measure that I always carry with me out of my bag. The stem from the ground to the bottom of the cap was 20 centimetres high and the cap itself had a diameter of 25 centimetres!

Today has been quite a busy day. I had to get up early to ride to the supermarket to pick up a few things for the lunch with my brother who was coming over from Berchem and when I got back there was still quite a bit to get ready before he would arrive. After the meal I rode to the sanctuary to walk one of their dogs and on the way back I stopped at the pet store for a bag of litter for Rosie.

Thank you so much for the lovely responses on my anniversary blip of Rosie, which hit the spotlight. I'm overwhelmed by all the comments and stars and cannot thank you enough for them. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.