Feeding time

Today was open day at the animal rescue centre nearest to Gent, which is in Merelbeke. This means that the public can come and have a look at all the work that is being done there by volunteers. I've taken a few wood pigeons to them in the past and have visited the centre on a few previous open days as well. I'd been having serious doubts about going this year though because I still had so much to do getting things ready for tomorrow's full day meeting and a very important appointment on Tuesday.

I still hadn't made up my mind about going when I got out of bed today but I couldn't stop thinking how a very good friend had recently pointed out to me how much I'd enjoyed my previous visits there and how it would be a relaxation for me. I was still unsure whether I'd made the right decision to go when I got on my bicycle this afternoon for the 30 minute ride there. It was only when I was actually there and walking around the centre that I realised my friend had been right all along.

Out of the slightly more than 100 photos that I took of various rescued animals at the centre, including squirrels, a fox cub, a hedgehog and a wild rabbit to name but a few, I chose to blip this tiny pipistrelle bat that was being fed its lunch by one of the volunteers just as I arrived.

Going out this afternoon means that I still have a lot to do, both for tomorrow's full day's meeting and for Tuesday's appointment, but the 3 hours that I spent at the animal rescue centre this afternoon were worth it.

I apologise for not commenting on journals as much as I would like to. I hope to be able to do that a bit more again later in the week.


Many thanks for all the comments and stars on yesterday's large mushroom blip. They are very much appreciated. :)


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.