ElectricFish

By ElectricFish

An American Wake

On 9th Sept 2005 I played traditional music on stage for the last time. It had been a big part of my life. I promised myself I’d never play again…Tomorrow I break that promise when I go to an American wake for my favourite niece Susie…..She leaves for Australia next week with her 3 lovely children to join her husband and try for a new life. She asked me for three things… Firstly a photograph of an abandoned homestead…so I drove to Connemara at 5am this morning, flew to Inis Mór on the first flight out and found what I thinks she like like. Secondly I went to the beach this evening and found some special seaglass to make her a piece of jewelry as a reminder of home. Her dad is buried on the hill of Tara so I’ll go for inspiration there on my way to the wake in. I’ll make the piece at the wake. Her last request, and my toughest, will be to accompany her on mandolin and sing with her… I hope I don’t disappoint………..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.