Jillian's Journal

By Daring2Go

Clouds over the Remarkables Range, near Queenstown

GingerNan and I drove through to Arrowtown today, mainly to visit my daughter and her family. We passed through Clyde, past Lake Dunstan and over the bridge to Cromwell, and on through the Kawarau Gorge to the bottom of the Crown Range. At the west end of the Gorge, just past the Nevis Bluffs, we stopped to photograph the stunning Remarkables, or Remarkables Range, with its jagged peaks. Seen from the east side, as in this image, you can see up into the basin which forms the well known ski-field. I've spent many hours climbing and skiing here, so it's a nostalgic sight for me, as is returning to Arrowtown, where my husband and I lived for 20 years, near Lake Hayes.

The Nevis Bluffs are at the entrance to the Gibbston Valley, where there are many well known vineyards, with a particular emphasis on growing grapes for their award winning Pinot Noir wines. Tis a place to linger longer!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.