Monitor

I guess being in hospital is a bit like being in prison. I don't mean it IS like being in prison, I mean the routine and the lack of freedom are in common (though they have locks on the shower room doors in hospitals!).

The routine is good when you're restricted, it gives you something to look forward to, from the six thirty cup of tea in bed to the ten thirty last drugs round.

I'm further restricted than some by being permanently attached to this monitor 24/7. They have a replica of this monitor behind the desk so they know your every movement, it's a bit like the film Matrix where people thought they were leading normal lives, except we're the ones that have realised the truth but we're still pumped full of drugs. It is possible to disconnect the monitor, for instance when using the bathroom, but the monitor starts pinging by the bed and at the desk. This can be a bit annoying especially in the middle of the night.

The other issue with the monitor is, as with all screens, they tend to be hypnotic. So you find yourself watching them for a sudden change in wave pattern. I've adjusted mine so I can't see it all the time, though visitors tend to stare at them.

I think the NHS, underfunded and overstretched as it is, does a wonderful job and I've certainly had my moneys worth from them. The nurses are caring and lovely, but there needs to be more on each ward, the consultants are professional and competent, but again the doctor/patient ratio is too low.

Given a choice I wouldn't be here, but in the state I'm in I guess I'm in the best place, even though it looks like I may be here for another week.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.