An Avid Lensman

By SarumStroller

Young Roe Buck...

After the manic bustle of London, yesterday, it was back to rural quiet and stillness, apart from this young roe buck, who I chanced upon on this woodland track.

Apparently, it is their rutting season, though this one was on his own. In November last, I caught three of them together, near the River Avon. This character just stopped and looked at me, then a few seconds later, casually slipped into the left hand side bank. On LARGE, you can see his short, stubby antlers.

Whilst the 3 deer shot was taken with a 500mm mirror lens, this was taken at the long end of my Tamron SP 70-300mm zoom, this makes him closer and a bit more used to humans than is often the case but compared to deer kept in Parks, such as Richmond etc, these ones are still quite wild. Find out more about these noble creatures on the British Deer Society website.

Thank god also for the very effective VC (Vibration Control) of the lens, this is hand-held, at 1/40sec! It was taken so quickly, I had no time to up the iso! The pic has been cropped by about 30% too and had some post-sharpening. I didn't crop further as I liked the receding track behind and the bits of grass and wild flowers at the edges.

Have a great Sunday, everybody! I'm slowly catching up with journals and again, thanks to all for getting my mono cityscape Blip from London yesterday into the Spotlight.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.