ZIP WIRE

Had a very different Sunday morning to what I anticipated. Was just going to get up late and stay at home just pottering about. However a conversation with Neil last evening changed all that.

He was at work yesterday - got in around 10.30pm and had a meal. He was off to bed around midnight and I asked him if he was working today. He said No - he had a day off and ..... he was doing a zip wire off the Tyne Bridge for charity. DOING WHAT! Why didn't you tell me before? Turns out he only signed up for it on Friday and had just had a text telling him where to meet up etc. So then he went off to bed.

I decided to go and watch so we both got the bus around 9.40am to Gateshead. Neil walked down to The Tyne Bridge and I got the shuttle bus. He texted me to tell me where he would be " landing " at the end of the wire and that he was going with his small group up on to the bridge.

The landing spot was inside an enclosed area belonging to HMS Calliope which has a spectacular riverside location, right next to the Gateshead Millennium Bridge. HMS Calliope is the principal Royal Naval Reserve training unit for the North East of England and home base for some 100 naval reservists. There is a shore establishment and 5 ships. HERE are two of them.

I finally managed to find where I was supposed to be and there were a few others there waiting to see their "person". I used my zoom lens and could see the small GROUP on the BRIDGE.

I could see NEIL looking a bit nervous. He is terrified of heights! And yet he has already done a skydive ( in Australia ) and a bungee jump ( in New Zealand )

He decided to go last to have time to work up some courage but I think this just made him more nevous. Finally it was his turn and he was climbing over the PARAPET. Then he was on the LEDGE ( he looks terrified in this shot ).

Then he was OFF. Here is a CLOSE UP of my blip shot -- he seems to be enjoying himself. He had a SAFE LANDING.

Everyone took their HARD HATS AND HARNESSES off.

I took this PHOTO of Neil's friend from work who was in the same group as Neil and their boss - the lady in the centre - who was doing it at 2pm. I was proud of Neil overcoming his fear of heights - again - and for charity too. Money raised is going to Macmillan Cancer Support.

The weather was lovely and the SUNDAY QUAYSIDE MARKET over in Newcastle looked busy.

Afterwards I got the shuttle bus to Gateshead and popped into Tesco.... yes you guessed it... more fruit. When I came out of Tesco it was raining heavily and since then we have had sunshine and showers all day.

Neil didn't come to Tesco. He went to....... a beer festival at Blaydon Rugby Club.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.