California Shrimp

Went out for dinner tonight, to my favourite love-hate restaurant. I really really really want to like it, the food is good, but the place irks me. They only serve american wine (which I don't drink as it triggers migraines and sparkling wine which triggers migraine too, and they won't allow you to bring your own wine and pay corkage either. Don't get me started on that one. Let me bring my own New Zealand Sauvignon Blanc, with a screw top that will require no opening by your staff and I will pay $20 for the priveledge, but nope, not possible, GRRRR).

Rant over, I decide to dice with a migraine with the Freixenet, and a Perrier as their water smells and tastes like drains.

Remember I said the food was good? This was one of our 2 appetisers, grilled chilli shrimp (yum) over coleslaw (no thank you). Our other one was salmon balls. Mains were skewered venison and pork tenderloin and we finished off with a lemon sorbet.

It's always interesting people watching here. Fellow diners are not the most sophisticated of people, but they do make sure they wear their best baseball cap (not their everyday one) in the dining room and I even saw a spiffy dresser with matching black and white camouflage cargo shorts and cap paired with sneakers and a tattoo. Did I mention the two fat ladies bursting out of their dresses, or the man showing off his iphone food and wine pairing app who went on to order a beer?

PS I have been migraine-free for 6 weeks now :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.