Re-cycling!

First of all thank you to everyone who stopped by yesterday on my second blipday, some of you have been with me since my very first day here on blip!

I will of course get round to thanking you all individually as soon as possible x

This is me recycling the dog - I'd already been out on my bike - too far for the dog, so she and I went for a shorter trip after. She loves it. She's only on the lead here because the harvest is in progress and there are grain lorries using the track.

Now, as promised, back to the dating game!!
A brief resume for any new readers: Two years ago when I started blipping, I also started my quest to find a new partner. It's an ongoing saga that so far has not produced a positive outcome!!

Whilst names may have been changed the rest is all factual.

Larry.
Larry contacted me through an online dating site, it seemed, virtually, that we had enough in common to make a meeting worth while.
Having established that we both enjoyed cycling, we decided to meet, with our bicycles and a pub roughly equidistant from our homes.
I, thinking of his first impression of me after a 15 mile journey, put my bike on the bike rack and drove there. On arrival I checked my lippy in the rear view mirror, lifted my bike of the rack sat down in the garden and waited.
Some 15 minutes later a lycra clad, rotund figure on a top spec. cycle wobbled into the car park.
Now don't get me wrong, I am not fatist or lycra-ist - some of my best friends wear lycra, and others are over weight - but.....

To have lycra clad meat 'n two veg, with a large overhanging belly staring you right in the face is not an appealing start to a first date. I stood up quickly, better to be face to face I thought. Poor Larry, his bald head looked as if the sprinkler system in an office ceiling had been turned on!! He was very red, very out of breath and obviously not very fit - and not very fit either!

He sat down, I got him some water and wondered if he might be about to pass out.
"Put your head between your legs" I said - thinking rather him than me!
After what seemed like ages he was able to talk, a bit.
He was able to talk the talk about bicycles, helmets, glasses, electrolytes, garmins and lycra. On other subjects he was less forthcoming.
"Right, shall we go on this cycle ride?" I asked.
"If you don't mind I think I'll order burger and chips and then head off home"

All the gear, and no idea!! I didn't hear from Larry again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.