Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

An "on and off" day

This image needs to be seen large.

I decided to do the first pre-walk for the Sewingshields Circular which I'm going to lead on October 8th in the Haltwhistle Walking Festival. I always like to do the route on my own before I do it with the rest of the team.

It was fine and bright to start with, then windy and cooler (fleece on), then rain (fleece off, waterproof on), then sunny and hot (waterproof off), sunhat on, wind blew it off, and so I proceeded all day!

The views were stunning as the light kept changing. This image is a panorama made by stitching together 8 images in Photoshop. Hadrians' Wall is immediately in front of you, and you can see it snaking away over the hills into the distance.

I met some fascinating folk today. There were a lot of Germans who were doing the central section of the Wall Trail - a sort of highlights of the Wall. Then there was the German in full soldier's outfit - a mixture of eras I think - who was finding the 60lb weight hard going. Then the group from Adelaide who I photographed in the pouring rain as they stood on the only piece of Wall permitted for feet. And so on. The walk took me a long time, but I've also decided I am upgrading it from Moderate to Moderate Plus. The open access land is tough going.

It's been a great day out and did you notice that I didn't mention Arth? What a good boy he has been!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.