Red, Green, and Blue

By GemmoMC

Applying for the Student Visa

After waiting for over a month and half, the day has final arrived. Collecting and completing all the necessary documents for the visa has been a lot of work and has taken a lot of patience. The visa process was and is a true test of one's will to go Spain. If you really want to go abroad, you've really got to put in the effort.

The visa application first began with getting a live scan and physical check up. They want to make sure your criminal record and health record are clean. Then I patiently waited to get my school placement and my apostilled background check. The weeks ahead picked up steam. I bought my plane ticket, I booked temporary accommodations, and I quit my job.

At the Spain meet-up I went to a few weeks ago, I had asked one language assistant how her visa application went. She replied, "It was anti-climactic." Now having gone through the experience myself, I would say it's a great relief to finally have submitted my application.

Up next:
-wait to get my passport/visa back
-find someone to rent out my place
-pack up my life
-fly to Madrid

_________________


I want to briefly talk about my experience inside the consulate. I met some nice people going on the same program as me. We all waited much longer after our appointed times because of delays in earlier appointments. It seemed like a majority of people weren't prepared. Submitting my application was rather easy. I got everything they needed. The only headache was waiting for the receipt. Although the wait may have been good, since I was able to chat with my fellow Americans about going to Spain. And my parents were able to see, through the people in the consulate, what amazing experience I will have abroad. I'm glad to have shared this part of the journey with them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.