Blush

I whizzed to work today - I love the school holidays and clear roads. There were loads of cyclists out and about, too, and most of the ones I saw around me were women. Bring it on.

As I was taking photos at lunchtime for blip, I was approached by a tourist, a young chap in his early twenties. He told me that I looked normal (always a relief) and attractive (ooh, thank you very much) and would I like to have sex (um...!) I politely declined. I'd like to think that this was a translation error and that he meant "date" rather than skipping that part altogether. Oh how the office giggled when I told them.

On the cycle home at Elephant & Castle, I was shouted at by a lady who told me to get off my bike and my behaviour (!) was why we're all going to get killed. I explained calmly that I was cycling on the pavement because it was a shared-use road and being a shared-use road was a help in not getting me killed. She wasn't having that at all. Oh well. Anyway, I was fuming at being shouted at for doing something completely legal when Fred wheeled in behind me. I ranted a bit and he consoled and recounted a similar shouty shared-use incident he'd had in Dulwich. Feeling exasperated at London's inability to inform pedestrians with large enough signs to tell people about shared-use spaces, we cycled on home without further incident.

Fred's dad headed off back to Inverness on the Sleeper after a quick dinner. Fred and I enjoyed End of Watch, a gritty police drama set in LA.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.