Greenwich shadow

It was a day for exploring London after our countryside adventure yesterday. Heath fancied seeing the Visions of the Universe exhibition at the Royal Maritime Museum. We caught the clipper down to Greenwich from London Bridge. Normally, this is quite fun, but the boat was too crowded to enjoy the views. Still, I love a boat trip.

The exhibition is fabulous. I've just finished editing a book about the Universe, in which I learned a great deal about stars and galaxies. The images in the gallery would be the same as those Mark Garlick (the author and illustrator of said book) would have used to create his artwork. The images of Saturn and its rings plus those of the Eagle Nebula really stood out for me. Fascinating. With space, if I think about it too much, I feel my head will explode. We're so very, very miniscule on a teeny tiny planet in a weeny Solar System in a mini galaxy in a small galaxy group in a supercluster...
[*explode*]

Bringing our minds back to Earth, we enjoyed a Greenwich Meantime beer and whizzed around the Painted Hall.

The train was down (of course, since we had Fred's dad with us), so we had to get a bus home, which took ages and was crowded. We stopped off at The Rosendale pub where Fred and his dad played chess and I played happily with the Hipstamatic iPhone app.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.