Manfred

The day finally arrived when I traded in Manfred for a new model. I'd done the deal last March and knew there would be a delay of some months before my new car arrived at the Hyundai dealers in Pewsham, near Chippenham. The due date of 23 July came and went, and it eventually was delivered on Friday 26 July with collection arranged for the following Friday. This deadline was also missed as staff sickness meant they couldn't get the towbar fitted on time, and so the date was fixed for this rainy Saturday afternoon.

I'd had Manfred since 2001 and it was a wrench to part with him. I was pleased to learn that he will not be scrapped but will be sold at auction. I will doubtless blip the new i10 Style in a glamorous location at a future date, but I felt this day belonged to Manfred. However, the new car can be seen in the background of this picture.

The i10 was unnamed at that time but I have now named her Archie. She was built at Hyundai's manufacturing plant at Irungattukottai in Sriperumbudur, in the Kanchipuram district of Chennai (formerly Madras), Southern India, and shipped from Chennai Port, so I thought she should have an Indian name. I settled on Archina, Archie for short, inspired by the actress Archie Panjabi (Kalinda in The Good Wife).

L.
13.8.2013

Blip #1037
Consecutive Blip #005
Day #1226

Alternatives:
Archie

Lens: Pentax 18-55mm kit lens

Lozarhythm Of The Day:
Abba - Super Trouper (1980)

One year ago: Smokey, 1202 hr

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.