Bowood 2013 #23

The Bowood Estate extends far beyond the House and Grounds that are open to the public. I was rather surprised when I first visited the grounds that only a section of the Lake was available to me. However, there are also a few public footpaths that give access to other parts of the estate, and I thought I ought to represent them in this project.

You can reach the south extreme of the Lake from three footpaths - one crosses the Golf Club, and one runs east from Sandy Lane, but I have walked both of those before, so on this occasion I parked in Mile Elm and took the third route that runs north to the Lake. Along the way I surprised a tawny owl which circled between the trees and glided silently away to the west across my path.

When I reached the Palladian bridge from which the lakeside path begins I saw three herons. As usual they kept out of camera range, though I did capture a couple of telephoto shots later on. A lot of trees had been felled since my last visit, I noticed. I stopped at this spot, from where I could see Bowood House in the distance, a couple of anglers, the boat house that has appeared in earlier blips and may help to give context to regular viewers with good memories, and the ever present Canada geese that had floated along the lake beside me as I walked up. I lingered quite awhile watching the light begin to fade, keeping an eye on one heron that was watching me back from the other bank and took off when I walked back.

L.
14.8.2013

Blip #1038
Consecutive Blip #000
Day #1229

Alternative:
From The Palladian Bridge

Lenses: Pentax 17-70mm, Sigma 70-300mm

Bowood series
Bowood 2013 (Flickr collection)(Work in progress)

Lozarhythm Of The Day:
Ane Brun - Do You Remember (2011)

One year ago: Smokey, 0916 hr

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.