Angelique

By Angelique

"WOO,WOO,WOO, NOBODY CAN DO IT LIKE A STEAM TRAIN"

Because it was Tuesday, and the weather was not too hot, after I had lunch , I walked down to the West Somerset Railway station here at Stogumber. I knew my friend, Peter Ann was on duty and as I hadn't seen her for a while I thought it would do Phoebe good to have a walk in the sunshine.

The garden looks sadly neglected with weeds growing everywhere. Sad when you consider I managed the garden here for over 2 years giving it my sole attention. I miss being here as the atmosphere was very tranquil but since there has been a change in management, and common sense went out of the window, I had to leave!! So it was good to see the place once again, even though it was painful to see the neglect.

So today's blip is a steam train - huffing and puffing carrying people from all over the country, visiting on holiday usually, with small children, probably experiencing a steam train for the first time. Smiling faces waving as they went past, not knowing of all the pain that had taken place at this once beautiful, tranquil garden. This train had a number, not a name - 88 and would have travelled from Plymouth up to Bath in it's heyday and now only travels from Bishops Lydeard to Minehead. A distance of about 15 miles through glorious countryside and this was how we discovered the beautiful village of Stogumber where we have now lived for nearly 7 years.

Matthew loves it here - saying he is coming on holiday. And it has that atmosphere - a holiday, away from it all place.

I hope you have all had a very good Tuesday. I know some have not and I feel for those of you. But tomorrow is another day, stay in hope and have a good nights rest. Until we 'meet' again - thank you for visiting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.