... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

Southbank Surprise!

More lively in large ("L").

Well, this was a turn up for the books! I'd struggled with the long lens in the NHM (it is definitely better for birds...) and was starting to think that I'd be blipping something rather uninspiring, but then this scene burst its way into my life.
I met a friend at the Southbank Centre this evening; we were meant to be meeting at 6:30, but a band and dancers started playing at about 6:25, and I ended up stuck on the wrong side of them!
What fun it was though; I had my 70-200mm fitted (the 24-70mm is at Fixation...) so probably looked like a proper paparazzo, and I do think that the dancers noticed me and looked into my lens. I sent my friend a text saying "Follow the drums!" and I managed to sneak around once the troupe had passed the narrow section of the riverside walkway.
They were amazing: the big band was made up of brass and woodwind instruments and various drums, and the dancers were both dancing in formation and also doing solo sections with break dancing and acrobatics.

The other good news is that Fixation phoned to say that they've sorted my lens out already (and found no sign of impact damage, of course) so I can collect it tomorrow! Excellent: well done Fixation.

I'm sorry, I seem to be very behind on my commenting and replying; I'll catch up ASAP.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.