... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

The Goosles & Their Island

The Goosles (Mrs., Gosling, Mr.)

I'm back from Wittering: I had a lovely time on the coast with friends.
Backblip 1: seaside sunset
Backblip 2: horses on the beach

I met another photographer there and I recommended blip: please do welcome fralan if you've a moment.

I went to visit the Goosles this afternoon and the gosling is looking very grown up now! It has its full juvenile plumage but is still very slender and leggy. It chirrups and peeps almost constantly, and I saw it flap about 5 metres across the water to chase a moorhen which was exciting. It won't be long before it is trying to fly properly! The Goosles' island is in the background: they protect this pond because Mrs. can nest in a cleft in the fallen tree there and remain very protected... I spoke to (rescuer) Ann over the weekend and she said that the injured gosling is recovering well at The Swan Sanctuary!

There was an impressive caterpillar crawling about under a tree at Eagle Pond: it was about 3cm (~1.5") long and very hairy. Does anyone know what sort of butterfly/moth it will become?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.