... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

Palace of Westminster & Olympic Rings HDR

More dramatic in large.

Oh well, here it is: my nod to the Olympics Games... I took this mid-afternoon, so I suppose it shows the sun starting to go down on the London Olympics.

I had a perfectly wonderful afternoon: I met a friend on the South Bank and we went to the Real Food Summer Market (a market of street food and organic fare) in front of the Royal Festival Hall. We then wandered over Westminster Bridge (pedestrianised!), and enjoyed a summery amble along the (middle of the) streets of central London which hadn't yet opened to traffic after the Olympic marathon street race.
It was pleasingly surreal (walking along the middle of Whitehall?!).

I've nothing against athletes or sporting competitions, but I'm absolutely not a fan of the Olympics; I genuinely feel a little bit treacherous in adding to their exposure (they're already many stops over-exposed)... They've certainly stirred up strong emotions, so I suppose it is only right that they feature here in my journal.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.