De Tour

Another day's cycling to work, today fairly early and minus the murderous headwinds of the last couple of days. Which gave me the mis-placed optimism to take the long way round by Tyninghame and stop for a few photos. Very nice that was, but it meant I had to push much harder than expected to make the 10 miles to Drem for the Edinburgh train in 30 minutes. 17 mph average - made it!

I always spilt this ride into 5 minute chunks after East Linton, watching the clock on the bike handlebars as I go. My waypoints don't have names, they're junctions of ancient little roads criss-crossing the county, but I know if I'm on time or not. Quite honestly, the mornings when I have time to spare I don't know what to do - I'm so used to being right to the wire! Well, this morning I had no time to spare and great fun it was.

Meeting a massive lorry backing up from the impassible bridge at Drem with a brand new £squillion tractor on the back was a bit of a nuisance, but being on a bike I just stood in the long grass until it passed me. The cars I passed queuing behind it weren't so lucky, it's 2 miles back to the "main" road. Ha! Sorry for you, I am. Really.

Well, maybe a bit.

The children arrived home late tonight and we have the weekend to look forward to, the last of their summer holidays. It's been a brilliant summer.

I'm off to London on Sunday to cover for a colleague who has had a bit of an emergency with his children, all sorted but needing family time, so more boats on the Thames for me! It's not all bad. In fact, it's not at all bad!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.