Northern Exposure

By Northern

One swallow

As I took the car out of the garage this morning a short eared owl flew silently over the path. This evening it taunted me by gliding past the kitchen window and ten minutes later it passed me as I stood in the porch. No way I was going to get a camera in time so just enjoyed the sight.

We haven't had regular visits from an owl for a couple of years. Before that we could almost set our watches by the one who patrolled this area. I'll be keeping an eye out for this young one to see if it takes the same route at the same time and I might be lucky enough to get a decent pic.

Still, it's taken me weeks to get an even slightly in focus pic of the swallows who are nesting in our byres so I wouldn't hold your breath for more than a rumour of a short eared owl.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.