The Love Child Chronicles

By lovechild

Old Flame

Things are winding down for me here in New Jersey. I've stopped replacing items that I do not want to pack, or would end up throwing away.

Case in point: long lighter for charcoal. Ours ran out of fluid, so after I nearly burned my thumb off with a standard disposable, I went in search of a book of matches.

I always grab matches when they are given out at restaurants, but for some reason, I couldn't find any.

Then, I remembered the old matches I discovered in a box of stuff that I found in my sister's attic after she died. Ironically, the box was marked, "Stuff from Mom's attic."

From my best calculations, these matches are over 40 years old! Nearly as old as me and they still work.

A good thing, as dinner was not delayed and was made possible by a different sort of old flame.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.